Delroy Lindo, 'Promising Young Woman,' 'Birds of Prey' Big Winners at Hollywood Critics Association's 4th Annual HCA Awards

Delroy Lindo Carey Mulligan Margot Robbie

The Hollywood Critics Association streamed the 4th Annual HCA Film Awards Friday night. PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN was the big winner of the night with five awards including winning Best Picture, Best Actress, Best Original Screenplay among others. BIRDS OF PREY received three awards and SOUND OF METAL with two wins. See the full list of winners and honorary awards.

Dwayne Johnson was honored with the Trailblazing Award for his charitable work which stirred emotions in the big guy during the ceremony. Zack Snyder was awarded the “Valiant Award” for his work bringing awareness to suicide prevention. The “Game-Changer Award” was presented to Nicole Beharie, the “Inspire Award” presented to Lin Manuel Miranda, the “Timeless Award” to cinematographer Dante Spinotti, the “Spotlight Award” presented to Kiera Allen and the “Impact Award” presented to JUDAS AND THE BLACK MESSIAH.

This year’s event streamed virtually on Friday, March 5, 2021 on the official HCA Facebook page and YouTube Channel.

Below is a full list of the 2020 award recipients:

Best Picture: Promising Young Woman

Best Actor: Delroy Lindo - Da 5 Bloods

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan - Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor: Paul Raci - Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress: Yuh-Jung Youn - Minari

Best Male Director: Darius Marder - Sound of Metal

Best Female Director: Chloé Zhao - Nomadland

Best Original Screenplay: Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Best Adapted Screenplay: Kemp Powers - One Night in Miami

Best First Feature: Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Best Cast Ensemble: Da 5 Bloods

Best Animated or VFX Performance: Ben Schwartz - Sonic the Hedgehog

Best Action: Birds of Prey

Best Animated Film: Wolfwalkers

Best Blockbuster: Birds of Prey

Best Comedy or Musical: Palm Springs

Best Documentary: (tie) All In: The Fight for Democracy & Class Action Park

Best Horror: The Invisible Man

Best Indie: Minari

Best International Film: La Llorona

Best Short Film: The Heart Still Hums

Best Cinematography: Joshua James Richards for Nomadland

Best Score: Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, and Atticus Ross for Soul

Best Original Song: Husavik (My Hometown) - Eurovision Song Contest

Best Visual Effects: Jonathan Dearing - The Invisible Man

Best Stunts: Birds of Prey

Best Hair & Make-Up: Matiki Anoff, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Larry M. Cherry, Sian Richards, Deidra Dixon and Jamika Wilson - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Best Production Design: Donald Graham Burt - Mank

Best Film Editing: Alan Baumgarten for The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Costume Design: The Personal History of David Copperfield

Honorary Awards:

Breakthrough Performance Actor - Paul Race

Breakthrough Performance Actress -Cristin Milioti

Acting Achievement - Aubrey Plaza

Filmmaking Achievement - Steve McQueen

Artisan Achievement - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Star on the Rise - Jo Ellen Pellman

Filmmaker on the Rise - Emerald Fennell

Artisan on the Rise - Emile Mosseri

Standout Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 or Under Award - Sidney Flanigan

Game-Changer Award - Nicole Beharie

Inspire Award - Lin Manuel Miranda

Timeless Award - Dante Spinotti

Spotlight Award - Kiera Allen

Impact Award - Judas and The Black Messiah

Valiant Award - Zack Snyder

Trailblazer Award - Dwayne Johnson

For more information on this year's awards ceremony, please visit:

Watch Interviews

Latest Trailers

Meanwhile On Instagram