DGA Nominees Announced

Director Taylor Hackford (La Bamba, Ray), President of the Director's Guild of America, announced the nominees for  the 63rd Annual DGA Awards Monday morning.  Among the nominees, the only surprise was Christopher Nolan for his blockbuster movie which was a long shot due to Inception's early 2010 release. Nolan is no stranger as a DGA nominee, having been nominated before for Memento (2001) and The Dark Knight (2008). David Fincher previously received a nomination for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button in 2008 and won a DGA Award for his Nike commercial work. Darren Aronofsky, Tom Hooper, and David O. Russell are first-time nominees in the Feature Film category.

In the 75 year history of th DGA, winners of the DGA Award traditionally go on to win the Academy Award for Best Director with the exception of six times. Past DGA Award winners include Kathryn Bigelow, James Cameron, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

The winner will be announced at the 63rd Annual DGA Awards dinner Saturday, January 29th in Hollywood.  

About the DGA:
In the 75 years since its founding in 1936, the DGA has fought for the economic and creative rights of its members; protected their ability to financially benefit from the reuse of their work; established strong pension and health plans; and established jurisdiction in new technologies and distribution platforms. Today we represent 14,500 directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, new media and other audiovisual media.

Watch Interviews

Latest Trailers

Meanwhile On Instagram